top of page
Search

Who you wanna be?

Remember your 10th birthday? Do you remember your 20th birthday?

My 10th birthday, I was fascinated by that single candle. Adrenaline gushing through my veins. Remember that feeling? That drive? That drive on who or what am I going to be when I grow up. Have you lost it?


My 20th birthday, just like any others. Looking forward to my 21th. Looking forward this "KEY" everybody is yearning for wishing for. Key can represents a lot of things. But in this concept represent freedom. Am I really free though? The first single step of adulthood.

Im in my mid twenties. Now that im typing it out doesn't even feel real. Feels more like I am battling with time itself. Mid twenties. What does that even means?

Do you remember when you're a kid? You keep thinking what will you be doing when you are all grown up? Oh my god! I am going to be a doctor! Or a lawyer! Im going to travel the world.Im going to meet Prince Charming at an approximate this age etc etc. Haha come back down to earth woman! Life is a bitch ain't it?!

Are you doing anything that you think you will be doing when you are a kid?

I don't know about you guys but I am no way near my dream? Whats my dream you say? Well, in the past all kinds of ridiculousness to be honest. What you mean ridiculousness you ask? It means dream VS reality. Thinking what kind of property you will own for example. Haha. Big houses. Luxurious cars. Firstly, do you have the job to afford these luxurious ridiculousness? Don't get me wrong tho. It is nice to dream big and to have these things.

But are you doing the kind of job you like? The dream job that you yearn for? To have luxurious things is nice. But in what terms? Are you doing a job that earn a huge sum but you are unhappy? In the beginning I was struggling to understand the ways of the world and its system. Finished my O levels. Thats it. Finished my O levels. But nobody ask me in earlier years what do I want to be? Its always "keep your nose in the books", 'theres no future for you if you do not study", "do you want to be unemployed when you grow up?" Wow! damn! How stressful?! I seen quite a lot of individuals around me who gave up their dreams base on other needs and society stereotypes and standards. How sad is that!

But thankfully after some stressful episodes after my late teens, I figured out a lot about my life. My wants, my needs, importances and relevance. Trust me some episodes in your life is a slap in the face to have your life figured out. Am I happy with the stage I am with my life now? I am actually. I am happy with the fact that I figured and understood some important stuff early in life. Better than when I approach adulthood, life is harsh let me tell you. I am following my dreams.

Thats important personally. Im studying my dream course. Im working in a field related to my studies and can help me out in the long run for my career and studies at the same time. I enjoy my hobbies. My family are healthy, joyful and harmonious. What more can I ask for? Now. Questions for you. Are you who you want to be when you are a kid? Have you lost your drive? Are you happy with your life?


80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page